I've been a PUMPER for a long time.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

I've been a PUMPER for a long time.

Post  MartyO4570 on Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:07 pm

I have a lot of pump shotguns...period! I graduated from a single shot 410 to an Ithaca Model 37 in 16 gauge. I have always loved the 37 and I have a bunch of them. These are the shotguns that I did all my bird hunting with. I used to make 35 yard shots all the time with the 2 3/4 high brass. Very smooth action and a great gun to use in wet weather because of the bottom eject feature.

My two favorites are a deluxe 1967 model in 12 gauge with vent rib barrel. I also have a $$$ Hastings deer slug barrel with scope mount for this gun. The other is a beautiful 2004 Ithaca Deerslayer with the barrel made to the receiver and is a 3 inch MAG gun. This is a very nice gun and I took a big 8 pointer with it at 60 yards.

I have two "real" Remington Wingmasters. You know, the older models with the nice walnut stocks and deep bluing. Both are MAG models with the REM-CHOKE barrel. One is a 12 and the other is a 20.

Overall, I prefer a 28 inch barrel in modified choke. Perfect for quail or pheasant. Have you had any pheasant recently? Boy is that good!

MartyO4570
Sargeant
Sargeant

LIKE : 8

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: I've been a PUMPER for a long time.

Post  schmidtty on Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:28 am